The boundaries of Upper Hutt extend from the Silverstream Bridge in the south to the summit of the Rimutaka Range in the north and totals 48,428 hectares in area.

View/download our Walkways in Upper Hutt brochure. The brochure outlines various walking experiences in and around Upper Hutt.

Walkways brochure cover page

Walkways in Upper Hutt include:

  • Keith George Memorial Park
  • Pinehaven Reserve
  • Ecclesfield Reserve
  • Bartons Bush
  • Maidstone Park
  • Cannon Point Walkway
  • Kaitoke Regional Park
  • The Hutt River Trail
  • Mt. Climie and Tanes Track
  • Tunnel Gulley Recreation Area
  • Rimutaka Incline
  • Dobsons Hut/Smiths Creek/Tauherenikau
  • Rimutaka Trig Track
  • Karapoti – Cedarholm
  • Riverstone Bush
Lookout points offer a view of either the Hutt Valley, Mangaroa or Whiteman’s Valley are marked on the walkway maps. The approximate ‘walking time’  for each walkway is also provided and all walkways are classified according to the following scale:

  • Path (Easy)
  • Walking Track (Some fitness required)
  • Tramping Track (Tramping experience needed)





Read related news »

Last updated on 30 Jan 2017